All 102 Ill. counties eligible for federal drought help - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

All 102 Ill. counties eligible for federal drought help

Posted: Updated:

All 102 Illinois counties are now eligible for federal disaster assistance due to drought conditions, according to Gov. Pat Quinn.

The remaining two Illinois counties, DuPage and Will, were declared Wednesday as being eligible for federal help through the US Dept. of Agriculture.

"Illinois' hard-working farmers are the backbone of our economy," Governor Quinn said.  "I am grateful Secretary Vilsack granted my request to declare the entire state an agriculture disaster area to help our farmers recover from this devastating drought."  I thank Senator Durbin and Secretary Vilsack for their commitment to helping our impacted farming communities."

For more information, please visit

Copyright 2012 KFVS. All rights reserved.


Powered by WorldNow

310 Broadway
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFVS12. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.