63 Mo. counties eligible for federal assistance because of droug - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

63 Mo. counties eligible for federal assistance because of drought

Posted: Updated:
(KFVS) -

Drought-stricken farmers in 63 Missouri counties are eligible for federal assistance after the U.S. Department of Agriculture issued a primary natural disaster area designation.

Thirty-one counties that have suffered either extreme or exceptional drought, or have suffered severe drought for more than eight weeks. An additional 32 counties have been designated as contiguous disaster counties.

Dunklin County is the only county in southeast Missouri designated as a primary county. Thirty other counties were designated a primary counties.

Butler, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Stoddard, and 28 other counties have been designated contiguous disaster counties.

In addition to keeping an eye on crops and livestock, producers should document any losses or additional costs experienced as a result of weather events, including drought. That information is often required for producers to be eligible for physical and/or production loss loan assistance from the FSA, as well as other assistance programs.

Last July, the USDA issued a disaster designation at the Governor's request because of the drought that impacted all 114 counties and the city of St. Louis.

Affected farmers can contact their local FSA office for more information.

Copyright 2013 KFVS. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

310 Broadway
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFVS12. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.