Campaign roundup: the lineup in the top-of-ballot races in south - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Campaign roundup: the lineup in the top-of-ballot races in southeastern NC

Posted: Updated:
The filing period has ended for candidates seeking office in 2014 The filing period has ended for candidates seeking office in 2014

WILMINGTON, NC (WECT) – A flurry of final-day filings on Friday added candidates to races for seats in Washington DC, Raleigh and southeastern North Carolina.

New Hanover County Commissioner Jonathan Barfield got a last minute challenger in the 7th Congressional District Democratic primary. Walter Martin is a town commissioner from Princeton, in Johnston County. On the Republican side, Barfield's fellow county commissioner Woody White, former state Senator David Rouzer and Chris Andrade  will be on the primary ballot. Attorney J. Wesley Casteen of Wilmington will run on the Libertarian ticket for the seat that is currently held by Rep. Mike McIntyre, who is not seeking re-election after nine terms.

Incumbent Rep. Walter B. Jones will have two primary challengers in his 3rd District GOP primary. The ten-term Congressman from Farmville will face Al Novinec of Jacksonville and Taylor Griffin of New Bern in May. Democrat Marshall Adame of Jacksonville will face the winner in November.

The most crowded field at the top of the ballot is the field for the U.S. Senate seat held by Kay Hagan.  Hagan will have two challengers in the Democratic primary, Will Stewart of Hampstead and Ernest Reeves of Greenville. Eight candidates signed up to run for the nomination, including House Speaker Thom Tillis of Cornelius, Greg Brannon of Cary, Heather Grant of Wilkesboro, Jim Snyder of Lexington, Mark Harris of Charlotte, Alex Bradshaw of Hickory, Edward Kryn of Clayton and Ted Alexander of Shelby. Two Libertarian candidates have also filed to run for their party's nomination: Sean Haugh of Durham and Tim D'Annunzio of Raeford.

Several local state House members will be running unopposed in 2014. They include Rep. Susi Hamilton (D-District 18) and Rep. Ted Davis (R-District 19).  Rep. Rick Catlin (R-20) got a last minute challenger when Democratic newcomer Betsy Jordan of Wilmington filed for the seat. She said the issue of film incentives is what drew her to run, as a former member of the Film Council.

Rep. Chris Millis (R-District 16) got a last minute challenger for the General Election when Democrat Steve Unger of Hampstead filed for the seat. 

Rep. Ken Waddell (D-District 46) of Chadbourn will have a general election challenger as well. Republican Brendan Jones of Tabor City has filed to run for that office. Waddell's fellow Democrat Rep. William Brisson (D-District 22) will also have an opponent in November, with Republican James Kenneth Smith of Clinton filing for that seat.

Challengers have lined up to run for the three state Senate seats representing southeastern North Carolina. Sen. Thom Goolsby's (R-District 9) announcement that he would not seek re-election opened the door for three fellow Republicans to campaign. Michael Lee, who ran unsuccessfully twice for the office, will join Michael Burns and Justin LaNasa on the primary ballot. Democrat Elizabeth Redenbaugh will face the GOP winner in the General Election.

Incumbent Sen. Bill Rabon (R-District 8) will not have a primary challenger. But two Democrats will be on the ballot trying to oppose him in November. Danny Hefner, who ran against Rabon in 2012, and Ernie Ward filed for the Democratic primary.

The District 13 state Senate seat will also be filled by a newcomer, after incumbent Sen. Michael Walters announced he would not seek re-election. Bernard White of Whiteville is the only Republican in the field. Jane Smith of Lumberton, Beverly Hall of Shannon and David Ayers are in the Democratic primary.

Four of the five local Sheriffs will have primary challengers. Only Sheriff John Ingram of Brunswick County will be unopposed.

Former Sheriff Sid Causey filed to run against incumbent Sheriff Ed McMahon in New Hanover County, with Marcus Benson and  Jason Vaughn in the GOP field.

Don Nichols will oppose incumbent Sheriff Carson Smith in the GOP primary in Pender County, with Scott Lawson filed as the Democrat.  

Newly-appointed Sheriff Lewis Hatcher of Columbus County will have four primary challengers: Larry Williamson, Calvin Norton, David Dutton and Mike Walker. No Republicans have filed for that seat in Columbus County.

Incumbent Sheriff Prentis Benston will be challenged by Steve Lesane in the Democratic primary, with the winner facing Jim McVicker in the General Election.

Copyright 2014 WECT. All rights reserved.


  • PoliticsMore>>

  • Industry leaders react to proposed film incentive program cuts

    Industry leaders react to proposed film incentive program cuts

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 11:36 PM EDT2014-07-30 03:36:33 GMT
    Lawmakers in Raleigh will likely vote later this week on a compromise budget agreement reached by conferees this past weekend, after negotiations extended the General Assembly session longer than many
    Pay raises for teachers, more vacation days for state workers, and less money for film incentives are all part of the $21.2 billion budget plan agreed on by negotiators in the state House and Senate. The deal will likely be voted on by lawmakers this week in the General Assembly.
  • NC Senate leader expects budget votes this week after deal reached

    NC Senate leader expects budget votes this week after deal reached

    Tuesday, July 29 2014 7:56 AM EDT2014-07-29 11:56:24 GMT
    North Carolina Senate leaders say they hope to have a final budget to vote on this week. Senate Leader Phil Berger said Monday both chambers are working together to finalize the budget and says he hopes
    Sen. Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) says he expects members of the General Assembly to vote on a compromise budget plan by the end of the week. Committee members reached agreement this weekend on teacher pay raises, teaching assistant positions and funding Medicaid, which have been the three major sticking points in negotiations.
  • NC Senate passes bill to reform Medicaid, bill goes to House

    NC Senate passes bill to reform Medicaid, bill goes to Senate

    Thursday, July 24 2014 9:15 PM EDT2014-07-25 01:15:35 GMT
    The North Carolina Senate has given tentative approval to a bill that changes how Medicaid is administered and paid for in the state. Senators approved the measure, 28-17, on Thursday. It would create
    State lawmakers in the Senate on Thursday passed a bill to partially privatize Medicaid by changing how the program is administrated and financed.
Powered by WorldNow

310 Broadway
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFVS12. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.