Gov. Bentley awards $1.7 million for hwy safety programs - KFVS12 News & Weather Cape Girardeau, Carbondale, Poplar Bluff

Gov. Bentley awards $1.7 million for hwy safety programs

Posted: Updated:
SOURCE: File video SOURCE: File video

Governor Robert Bentley announced Tuesday he is awarding more than $1.7 million in grants to help programs that make Alabama roads safer. These programs are set to help reduce injuries and fatalities on roadways.

The grants will go towards the Alabama Department of Public Safety and the state's nine regional traffic safety offices, to help conduct extra traffic safety patrols and checkpoints. The additional checkpoints will target speeding, seat belt violations and drunken driving.

Each office will purchase additional breath analyzers to ensure an adequate number of devices are available for use during those extra patrol periods.

These grants are being awarded by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs through funds made available to the state by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administrative.


Bentley awarded the following grants:

$250,000 to the Alabama Department of Public Safety to pay overtime hours for state troopers taking on extra shifts during busy travel periods.

$190,995 for the North Alabama Highway Safety Office at Northwest Shoals Community College. The office serves Colbert, Cullman, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Marion, Morgan and Winston counties.

$271,605 to the Etowah County Commission for the Northeast Alabama Traffic Safety Office which serves Cherokee, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Madison and Marshall counties.

$169,734 to the city of Montgomery for the Central Alabama Highway Safety Office which serves Autauga, Bullock, Elmore, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery and Russell counties.

$236,861 to the Mobile County Commission for its Highway Traffic Safety Division, which serves Baldwin, Escambia and Mobile counties.

$236,861 for the Greater Birmingham Highway Traffic Safety Program at Jefferson State Community College. The program serves Bibb, Blount, Chilton, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair and Walker counties.

$34,646 for the Alabama Tombigbee Regional Commission's Highway Traffic Safety Division which serves Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Marengo, Monroe, Washington and Wilcox counties.

$100,493 for the East Alabama Highway Safety Office at Gadsden State Community College. The office serves Calhoun, Chambers, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Randolph, Talladega and Tallapoosa counties.

$107,481 for the Southeast Alabama Regional Highway Safety Office at Enterprise State Community College. The office serves Barbour, Butler, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston and Pike counties

Copyright 2014 WSFA 12 News.  All rights reserved.

SOURCE: Office of Governor Robert Bentley

Powered by WorldNow

310 Broadway
Cape Girardeau, MO 63701

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KFVS12. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.